Tuesday Reflection, week 4

October 19, 2006

Very interesting class.  I have continued to think about the lecture since Tuesday and spent some time looking on Tribe LA’s website. The story of Dieter Zander’s pilgrimage connects in many ways with my own journey. I was happy to hear Ryan say that the emerging church is not about trendy, relevant worship services. The emerging church has a different ecclesiology, different understanding of kingdom, new emphasis on the poor, and a different theology than the church-within-a-church young adult service.  I find the picture that Ryan painted of this movement that is happening spontaneously in many places to be beautiful and hopeful.  I was most interested in the comments about how people are choosing to move to urban neighborhoods, sharing life together and being accountable throughout the week in how they are engaging their neighbors. The lecture encouraged and helped me develop some of my ideas about life direction for the future. There is much more I could say, but I’ll leave it at that for now.

Leave a Reply

