Tuesday Reflection, Week 7

November 11, 2006

I found myself identifying how I have changed and seen God working in my life over the past years during class. I thought about times in the past when I ineffectively sought to change systems and practices from the position of an outsider. The zeal that drove me to write off entire practices and aspects of our culture I am now somewhat embarrassed by. In time, God began to stir questions in me about the Christian subculture that I was cloistered in, and challenged me to learn to love people and the culture around me.  I experienced some false guilt during this time about the shift in my thinking, but often found God confirming the importance of this new freedom to love. Today’s class was one more way in which I have been able to develop a stronger theological basis for my call to love a culture and “affirm every activity within the practice whose shared understanding is not contrary to God’s design for the practice.”

Leave a Reply

