Class Reflection, Monday, Week 1

September 25, 2007

Though it was not the first time I’ve heard Newbigin’s thinking on missions in the West, I was struck by the question Newbigin asks, “Why is the church so irrelevant in the West?” I am looking forward to this class because I hope to piece together a better understanding of how mission to and within the affluent West is related to both global justice issues and social concerns in the U.S.  I find myself wondering often how I reconcile my interests in these areas of study, feeling that they are at odds with each other, though I am not entirely convinced of this.

Leave a Reply

